How To Heal Sacral Chakra

Practitioners and scientists have studied, understood, and analyzed chakras for centuries. These are described as the energy centers of our body that govern all aspects of life including physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual.

How To Heal Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is an integral element of our energy systems and is located at the base of the spine in the lower abdomen. It governs our sexual energies, creativity, emotions, intuition, and spirituality.

Learning how to heal the sacral chakra is a great way to balance your entire being, and can be achieved with just a few simple steps – read on to learn more about your sacral chakra, its significance, and how you can start to heal.

What Are Chakras?

Chakras are energy centers or vortexes that exist along the central axis of the human body.

They are said to be like wheels within wheels, and they are considered to be the main conduits through which energy or “prana” flows throughout the body.

Prana is the Sanskrit word for “life force” or “vitality.,” and the term was first used by ancient Indian yogis, who believed that this force or energy could be harnessed and channeled into the body.

There are seven major chakras in the human body:

1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)

Located at the base of the spinal column, this chakra is important for helping us feel grounded to the Earth, and secure in our lives, both physically and emotionally.

If blocked, this chakra can cause physical issues in the bladder or colon, or improve the risk of constipation or arthritis. A blocked root chakra can also rest in feelings of insecurity around our basic needs, well-being or financial stability,

2. Svadhisthana (Sacral Chakra)

 Located below the belly button and above the pubic bone, this chakra is associated with sexuality, fertility, and reproduction. If it’s open, we’re able to experience pleasure from sex, intimacy, and relationships.

Blocked, this chakra can lead to problems such as impotence, infertility, and low libido, as well as issues with the urinary tract or lower back.

3. Manipura (Solar Plexus)

This chakra is found between the navel and heart, and is associated with self-esteem, confidence, and personal power.

When it’s open, we feel confident and comfortable in ourselves, and we’re able to express our true selves without fear of judgment. However, if it’s closed, we may struggle with feeling inadequate, insecure, or not good enough. 

Issues such as eating disorders, heartburn, or ulcers are often attributed to a blocked solar plexus.

4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)

Located in the middle of the chest, this chakra is related to love, compassion, empathy, and understanding of others. When it’s open and balanced, we feel connected to others, and we’re able to see their best qualities.

However, when it’s closed, we tend to focus only on what’s wrong with people instead of appreciating them for who they really are.

A block in the heart chakra may result in an individual placing the needs of others above their own or having difficulty forgiving themselves or others.

5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

Located at the throat, this chakra is responsible for communication, expression, and speech. When it’s open, we’re able to communicate effectively, speak up for ourselves, and express our opinions.

However, if it becomes blocked, we may find ourselves feeling isolated, lonely, or unable to talk about our emotions.

6. Ajna (Third Eye)

Located between the eyebrows, this chakra is linked to intuition, creativity, and insight. When it’s open, it allows us to connect with our higher self, and understand how to manifest our dreams.

However, if it gets blocked, we may have trouble seeing past the surface level of things, and become stuck in our thoughts.

7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Located at the top of the head, this chakra is connected to spiritual awareness, enlightenment, and bliss. When it’s open, all of life’s challenges seem less daunting, and we’re more likely to be happy and content.

However, if it closes, we may feel overwhelmed by life’s difficulties, and lose sight of our inner light.

How Can You Heal Your Sacral Chakra?

Healing your sacral chakra is an important skill; however, it takes time and practice to master.

The following tips will help you heal your sacral chakra:

  • Ground Yourself

Start by grounding yourself through meditation, yoga, tai chi, or any other form of relaxation that helps you ground into the earth.

Sit or stand, whichever is the most comfortable for you, and picture yourself sinking deeper and deeper into the earth, with strong roots connecting you right to the core of the Earth.

Feel the energy flowing through your body, and imagine it moving down into the soles of your feet.

  • Focus On Your Breath

Next, breathe deeply and slowly. Focus on each breath going into your nostrils, filling your lungs completely, then exhaling fully.

As you inhale, visualize the air entering your body like warm water, filling every cell, organ, tissue, and bone. Exhale, letting go of everything negative and stagnant inside of you.

Imagine that all of your stress, worries, fears, and anxieties are being released from your body as you breathe out. Repeat these steps until you can’t think of anything else but your breath.

  • Visualize Light

Next, close your eyes and take several deep breaths. Visualize a beam of white light coming down from the heavens, healing your entire body. See this light fill your whole being, and cleanse every part of you.

Let it wash away all the negativity within you, leaving only pure, clear light behind.

  • Visualize Your Sacral Chakra

Now, envision your sacral chakra. It should look similar to a spinning wheel, or vortex. This represents the flow of prana, or universal life force, which flows throughout your body.

See this wheel spin clockwise, bringing balance and harmony back into your life.

Observe for a moment – does there appear to be any kind of cloud or darkness on your sacral chakra, or does it seem blocked in some way? If so, use the light that you have brought in to dispel those clouds and blockages.

You should soon notice that your sacral chakra feels lighter, clearer, and brighter than before. Continue practicing this exercise daily, and over time you’ll see positive changes in your life.

Final Thoughts

Sacral chakras play a vital role in keeping us balanced and healthy and must remain clear and bright to allow you to enjoy a peaceful, fulfilling life.

By using the techniques above, you can begin to heal your sacral chakra and bring your body back into a state of balance and health.

Andrea Daehma