How Aroma Can Balance Your Chakra?

Does your energy feel off-balance? Well, this could be stemming from an imbalance in your chakras. 

You should aim to keep your chakras open so energy can easily flow through. Otherwise, they can become blocked – causing emotional or physical problems. 

How Aroma Can Balance Your Chakra?

Some way to balance your chakras is through aromatherapy. Here, essential oils are used to recalibrate your body’s center of energy – ensuring everything runs smoothly. 

While there are approximately 114 chakras in the body, most people are familiar with the main seven that fall along the spine. 

Each of these chakras represents an organ in your body – playing a part in your perception and consciousness, with spiritual, physical, and emotional impacts. 

With this in mind, this article will explore how aromas can impact the balance of your chakras. 

Let’s get started. 

Best Essential Oils To Balance Your Chakras

Essential oils have been used for centuries and are great when it comes to physical ailments. 

However, did you know that using essential oils in aromatherapy and massage can help to balance your chakras, too?

Here, these herbal oils have the ability to stimulate your mind, body, and spirit. 

Below, we will look at each chakra in further detail. 

1. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is located just below the navel, close to the lower abdomen. Due to its location, this chakra is responsible for your reproductive, sexuality, and sensuality energy. 

It is portrayed by an orange wheel and it helps your sexual pleasure, intimacy, and creativity. 

Signs of imbalance: infertility, impotence, unworthy feelings, unconfidence, bladder and kidney issues, and hypersensitivity. 

Ylang Ylang Oil

This essential oil is derived from the fragrant flowers of the Cananga odorata tropical trees – native to Indonesia. Thanks to its scent, it is ideal for an aphrodisiac and romantic tool. 

Moreover, it also helps to maintain agitation and fear in an overactive sacral chakra – enhancing your sexual pleasure and reproductive energies. 

2. Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra is located on the base of the spine or at the tailbone area. This is represented by a red wheel. 

Moreover, it symbolizes your primal survival instincts and is responsible for providing you with a sense of safety, groundedness, digestive health, self-esteem, general health, tryst, and bone health among many more. 

Signs of imbalance: possessive, materialistic, lethargic, fearful, constipation, insecure, brittle nails, bone problems, and obesity. 


This oil is derived from the steam distillation process from the heartwood located on sandalwood trees. In many Eastern cultures, it is considered sacred. 

Likewise, it is rich in calming, sedative, antidepressant, and anti-anxiety properties. 

Moreover, it can calm your nervous system, too – providing you with a sense of stability and safety while harmonizing with your emotional self. 

3. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra, as you would expect, is located in the center of your chest. It is represented by a green-colored wheel. 

This is a vital chakra and represents compassion, love, sympathy, forgiveness, and self-acceptance among others. It allows you to give and receive love. 

Moreover, it also helps to deal with loss, breakups, and betrayal. 

Signs of imbalance: selfishness, anger, jealousy, uncaringness, arm or shoulder disorders, and lung issues. 

How Aroma Can Balance Your Chakra?

Rose Oil

Floral and sweet fragrances are distilled from the petals of roses. Here, rose oil can be used therapeutically to help hormonal and menstrual problems for individuals, as well as skin disorders. 

Moreover, it is considered an aphrodisiac, too – with the ability to boost your love life. 

It can help you to relieve trauma, insomnia, stress, depression, and anxiety. Since this chakra is directly linked to the heart, anointing this oil as a perfume can help balance these issues. 

4. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra can be found just below the sternum in the stomach and upper abdomen area. 

This chakra influences your gut instincts and is related to confidence and self-esteem, too. 

It is represented with a yellow wheel – portrayed as your vitality, ego, drive, and willpower among many more. 

Signs of imbalance: short temper, no control over your emotions, dominating instincts, judgmental, digestive disorders, and workaholic. 


Here, spicy and warm fragrances come from the aromatic Indian spice, cinnamon. Moreover, it is used to power up and enhance your adrenal glands – allowing you to become more self-confident in what you do. 

Likewise, the antidepressant and tranquility effects of the scents can help to relieve confusion, stress, fear, and doubt. 

5. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The third eye chakra – also known as the brow chakra – is located in the center of your forehead. Situated in the middle of your eyes, this indigo-colored chakra represents your intuition. 

Here, it has the ability to balance your dreams, memory, common sense, spirituality, knowledge, and wisdom. 

It is a powerful tool when it comes to telepathic or visionary instruments. 

Signs of imbalance: hormonal issues, disorders in the brain and eyes, lack of memory and concentration, lymphatic diseases, headache, insomnia, and more. 


This essential oil is derived from the aromatic lavender flower. It can be used for balancing all seven of the major chakras. 

Thanks to the oils calming properties, once inhaled into your energy system they can rejuvenate and relax you instantly. 

6. Throat Chakra (Vishudha)

This chakra is located on the external or internal areas of the throat or around the neck area. It is represented by a blue symbol and is the center of your self-expression, especially when it comes to writing, verbal, and body language. 

This chakra allows you to communicate your opinions, feelings, passions, thoughts, and desires with those around you. 

Likewise, it has the ability to influence your ability to understand and listen to others. Once balanced, the chakra represents effective communication, expressiveness, patience, ethical listening, openness to criticism, and honesty. 

Signs of imbalance: stuttering, poor communication, afraid to express yourself, over-talkative, manipulative, deceitful, unable to listen, arrogant, stiff neck and shoulders, and sore throat. 


This essential oil is derived from the steam distillation of leaves and twigs of the marvelous eucalyptus trees. 

The antibacterial and woody aromatic properties of the oil are ideal for those suffering from respiratory issues, including colds, coughs, congestions, sore throat, flu, cold, and more. 

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

This chakra is located on the top of your head – represented by a violet or white wheel. 

Here, the chakra connects you to joy, universal truth, and beauty. 

Signs of imbalance: anxiety, inordinate attachments, lack of motivation, egocentrism, depression, headaches, spiritual darkness, and overthinking. 

Frankincense Oil

In Middle Eastern cultures, this is a sacred oil and comes from oleoresin found in frankincense trees – helping to soothe your body and mind thanks to its sedative and antidepressant properties. 

Final Thoughts

Scent is a powerful sense. Not only does it have the ability to transcend you to a specific moment in time but it has the potential to heal you from within, too. 

Here, essential oils have a direct link to your chakras. Therefore, if you’re ever feeling down, you may be experiencing an imbalance. 

Hopefully, this guide has informed you of the role of aroma in your chakras. 

Andrea Daehma